For the Love of Cooking!

This weekend I invited one of Kevin’s sisters and her boyfriend over for dinner! This particular sister is the mother of Kevin’s nephew that is currently living with us! I thought it’d be super fun to cook a big meal for the six of us!

I love to cook! && I especially love to cook big meals!

So this past Saturday our menu consisted of:
To Die for Roast
Mash Potatoes & Gravy
Squash Patties
Broccoli & Cheese
Corn

&& for dessert, I made Strawberry Sopapilla Cheesecake!

Everything is super easy to make! My favorite side dish of all time are the squash patties! They are very, very, very unhealthy but they are so VERY good! The roast is just a simple, very easy crock pot recipe!  I’ll post the recipes below! I love easy recipes, so if you have any please share your favorites!

As I was just finishing up cooking, Kevin got a call from his sister! Their car had broken down halfway to our house and so they weren’t going to be able to make it! Huge disappointment, but what can you do? Vehicles can be unpredictable at times–I’m just glad they were closer to home and not off in another state when this happened!

So we had lots of leftovers & I’m definitely not complaining about that! 🙂

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

-Gaby

Squash Patties
3 medium squash
1 corn kit
1/2 cup frozen chopped bell peppers
1/4 minced onions
2 eggs
Salt & Pepper to taste

Boil & drain the squash. Mash squash with potato masher and add all ingredients. Mix well. If mixture is too dry–add water. If mixture is too wet–add some from an extra corn-kit until it’s a good consistency. Fry them up in shortening and enjoy!

To Die For Roast
1 roast
1 pkg ranch dressing mix
1 pkg zesty italian mix
1 pkg McCormick brown gravy mix
1/2 cup water

Lightly salt & pepper & flour the roast. Brown each side and put in a crock pot. MIx all packages of mixes together with the water. Pour over the roast and cook on low for 6-12 hours.

Leave a Reply

