Day 2 – The good in Metformin

Metformin is a terrible medicine. The WORST!

My husband and I have been trying to get pregnant since October of last year. So, for a year now. We waited about six months with no luck before I decided to start seeing a doctor about this.

A little back history, so you know where I’m coming from and why I opted to go ahead and see a doctor after only a short six months.

From the time that I got greeted by the lovely mother nature, the once a month thing was more like once every 8 months. So, when I turned 18 I was put on birth control for regulation, which indeed worked perfectly!

So, in order to have a baby…meant no BC…which meant being irregular…which meant no ovulation…which results in no baby Kevin growing in my belly! So that’s where the doctors come into play.

I was diagnosed with PCOS at 18. I never did research on PCOS at that time because I just wasn’t worried about it. I was 18!

Metformin is supposed to be a medicine that CAN help with PCOS. I’m saying CAN because from my understanding now, there’s no cure for PCOS.  It’s not like it’s impossible to get pregnant with PCOS, but it’s just more difficult! I was on Metformin for 3 months.  The entire 3 months I was so, so, so sick!

So I gave up. Nothing was happening that was supposed to be happening & I was getting tired of feeling bad all the time!

Then I got a little touch of reality knocked into me by my lovely sister.

“How far are you willing to go?”

Before we were even trying for a baby, I had made my mind up that I was not going to take things out of Gods hands. I considered that to be basically anything that I had to take or do to have a baby. I figured, if God wants me to have a baby he will make it possible. But that’s not exactly the truth. God uses many people for many different things. Maybe God’s giving the doctors the ability to help me. I believe that to be true with any other doctor so why exclude infertility doctors?

So yesterday, I started back on Metformin. I’m looking at the good in the medicine. If I have to take this medicine for a long time, I’m not going to worry about it. Because if it makes it possible for me to get pregnant, than feeling sick is worth it! It’s a small price to pay for something great!

Have a great day!
-Gaby

You can learn more about PCOS here!

PCOS...I have it and was told children were highly unlikely. I am now 6 months pregnant with my 2nd child and no problems. Miracles do happen!

**to read more about my Write 31 Days challenge, click here!***

One thought on “Day 2 – The good in Metformin

Leave a Reply

