Day 9 – The good in waiting rooms

Doctors offices are like my second home. I literally feel like I have something wrong with every part on my body. I don’t like this. I’m not the type of person that seeks out something to be wrong. It just happens this way. I was BORN with my first medical problem!

I hate going to the doctors. Not that they are all bad or anything, I usually find great doctors. What I hate about doctors are their waiting rooms. I hate sitting and waiting for my name to be called so everyone can look up to see who this “Gaby”….usually pronounced incorrectly…person is. I have even gotten looks in the past and I always assume they are thinking….”Gabby is a Hispanic name….and this chick is white!” Probably not what they’re thinking but it could be! But no one ever says my name correctly. Ever.

I hate sitting in a room waiting on the doctor to come. The rooms are always so small. And I’m usually by myself. I feel cut off from the world!

And the wait times. They can be crazy at times. I know my last appointment with my baby doctor was an almost 3 hour event. I waited for about 2 hours for her to get there, spent 15 minutes with her, and then waited for another 30 something minutes for a script.

I know. I know that she’s a baby doctor and those baby doctors get called away to deliver those babies! I know that one day some poor girl is going to be sitting in a room all alone while this doctor is delivering my baby! So I’m okay with it, I’m just putting in my time!

But what made all those horrible waiting rooms and wait times horrible in the past….I never took anything with me. I would sometimes play on my phone and sometimes not…because I don’t have enough on my phone to do. I don’t enjoy scrolling through Facebook over and over. I have a kindle but it never failed…it would be dead or almost dead with no time to charge it. So I always end up there just sitting. Looking at the posters and models. Bored out of my dang mind.

Then I started reading! I completely do not mind waiting rooms anymore. In fact, I love them now! I went to the doctor yesterday and read. I have a doctor’s appointment today and I get to read again! (If my talkative husband will allow, haha) I had started a paperback book over a month ago and haven’t had much time to read it! Waiting rooms are the perfect time to read.  I will always make sure I take a book with me from this point on! So, people who are reading this…take my advice! If you hate waiting rooms and the waiting room wait times, take a book! It will save from boredom!

-Gaby

You can see what I’m reading by adding me on GoodReads! It’s a great way to track what you’ve read, are reading, and want to read!

**Write 31 Days is a challenge that I accepted for October 2015. If you would like to read more about this challenge, you can click here!***

Leave a Reply

